Colleton County Fire-Rescue


23/January/2015 Ė Service Awards for Station 2

Station 2 personnel presented Commissioner S.G. Drew and Captain Shane Rushton with 20 year service awards during the Stationís Annual dinner held in Summerville Friday, 23-Janaury. Drew and Rushton both joined the station in 1994 and were instrumental in bringing the station in Jacksonboro through some turbulent times. Both joined when a group of volunteer firefighters walked out on the community following a spat with the County Council just after the Countywide Fire-Rescue Program began. They assisted with reorganizing the station membership, attracted new volunteer firefighter and assisted with the constructed an addition to the station. Through the groupís efforts they were the first station to lower the ISO rating for the Jacksonboro Community back when the station ISO ratings were individually performed. The Station achieved a Class 5 in less than two years. Both have remained active with Rushton now leading the Station as Captain and Drew serving on the County Fire-Rescue Commission.